Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access - Copyright and Author's Rights
Open Access - Digital Repositories and Search Tools
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,692,592 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Creative Commons Search
CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online. Note: not fully Open Access
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB contains the metadata of open access books, uploaded by publishers. Books in the OAPEN Library are automatically listed in DOAB, provided they have an open content licence (such as a CC licence).
DLIST: Digital Library for Information Science and Technology
Digital Library of Information Science and Technology (DLIST) is a cross-institutional, subject-based, open access digital archive for the Information Sciences, including Archives and Records Management, Library and Information Science, Information Systems, Digital Curation, Museum Informatics, records management and other critical information infrastructures.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 22% of which comes from sponsors and 78% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
E-LIS: Eprints in Library and Information Science
This site houses open access archives of published and unpublished documents in the realm of information science.
Getty Publications Virtual Library
In 2014, Getty Publications launched its Virtual Library with more than 250 titles spanning its forty-year publishing history. Titles are searchable by title, author, and keyword and include full descriptions, tables of contents, links to read online, to purchase the print book, to find in a library, or to download the complete PDF for free for personal use
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Hathi Trust is a digital repository for The Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California System. It is open to other institutions who wish to deposit materials in this vast archive.
Information Resources Management Association (IRMA) Open Access
As one of the first to hold applied technology research conferences, the Information Resources Management Association is pleased to offer over 2,500 Open Access research papers from all of its past conferences for free download. Covering some of the most influential movements in the study of information systems, IRMA Open Access research is sure to support your research with the work of worldwide scholars and pioneers.
Library Publishing Directory
The Library Publishing Directory provides an annual snapshot of the publishing activities of academic and research libraries, including information about the number and types of publications they produce, the services they offer authors, how they are staffed and funded, and their future plans.
Open Access Button
Powerfully Simple Tools to Deliver Articles and Fill Repositories Libraries have led the charge to open up access to the scholarly literature. We help turn that leadership into leverage to reduce costs, to save staff time, to improve library services, and to open up even more content.
OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
The Public Library of Science maintains a collection of scientific and medical literature that is freely available.
PubMed Central® (PMC)
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 102 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it.
Scholars Archive, the University at Albany’s institutional repository, collects, preserves, and provides online access to scholarly research and resources created by University at Albany faculty, staff and students. The goals of this open access repository are to increase discoverability and ensure long-term, reliable access to the University’s scholarly output.
SHERPA is investigating issues in the future of scholarly communication. It is developing open-access institutional repositories in universities to facilitate the rapid and efficient worldwide dissemination of research. SHERPA services and the SHERPA Partnership are both based at the Centre for Research Communications at the University of Nottingham.
Smithsonian Open Access
Smithsonian Open Access is where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
SSRN: Social Science Research Network
SSRN´s eLibrary provides 927,257 research papers from 477,306 researchers in more than 50 disciplines.
An open database of 26,020,310 free scholarly articles.We harvest Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and make it easy to find, track, and use.
Open Access - General Resources
Information Science Librarian