Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
And, Or and NOT (Boolean Operators)
The Boolean Operators, And, Or and Not, are used to effectively execute searches in a database. Here are some online guides on using Boolean Operators:
Use databases to find articles on topics in library and information science. The following is a selective list of databases that contain articles covering library and information science subjects. To access these resources, you need a SUNYcard issued by the University at Albany AND currently be affiliated with the University as faculty, staff or student. You will be prompted for your net id and password to access these resources.
Library,Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Library, Information Sciences & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text indexes more than 550 core journals, 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus book, research reports and proceedings. This database also contains full text for more than 270 journals and a nearly 20 full-text. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more.
LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts
LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.
INSPEC is the world's largest bibliographic database in the field of physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control engineering, and information technology. Over 330,000 new records from 4,000 journals and 2,000 conference proceedings are added each year.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database provides access to education literature and resources in the Current Index of Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE). ERIC documents include conference papers, reports, instructional materials, research articles, and other materials.
Bibliographic and full-text database which provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. Includes full text for more than 100 books, monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
Information Science Librarian
- You can access databases from the Databases Finder Page.
- Select your subject interest or needed document type (e.g., Newspapers)
- Choose a database from your subject area or document type.
- Databases are made up of records and fields
- A record represents the contains about one item. That item could be a book, a book chapter, an article, a report or a web site.
- A field is the part of a record that contains information about one aspect of the item. Some common fields are the title, author, abstract, publication date and subject or descriptor.
- The subject field is also known as the subject heading or descriptor field. This field is made up of controlled vocabulary which are terms or phrases that have been selected to described the concepts covered in an item.
- Databases usually have unique controlled vocabulary. Try to use each database's controlled vocabulary to efficiently access all of the available information on your topic.
- If the database that you are using does not have a thesaurus, examine the subject or descriptor field to determine the specific terms used by the database to cover your topic.
- Boolean Operators are used when you want to narrow or broaden the results of your search