IST 605: Early Literacy Instruction

Early literacy focuses on foundational skills (talking singing, reading, writing, playing) in infants, toddlers and preschoolers (birth to around age 6) to build a love of language and prepare them for formal reading/writing, emphasizing caregiver interaction and experiences over formal instruction, creating a bedrock for all future learning.

Early Childhood Health and Development - Early Literacy

American Academy of Pediatrics. Website.

• Highlights why reading aloud and shared book experiences starting in infancy matter for children's brain, language, social-emotional, and literacy development. It summarizes research-based recommendations that pediatricians encourage "shared reading" from birth through kindergarten, and outlines how doing so helps build vocabulary, supports secure parent-child attachment, and lays a strong foundation for school readiness and lifelong learning. Its strength lies in its grounding in medical and developmental research, its broad scope (from infancy onward), and its framing of literacy as part of overall child health - helping caregivers see reading not only as an academic activity, but as a core developmental and relational practice. At the same time, the page is a general summary rather than an in-depth educational curriculum, families may still need more child-specific strategies or locally available resources to implement daily reading in meaningful ways for their child.

Talk, Read and Sing Together Every Day! Tips for Preschool Teachers & Other Early Childhood Education Program Providers [PDF]

U.S. Department of Education. Government Website.

• A concise, downloadable guide that offers practical strategies for caregivers and early-childhood educators to enrich preschoolers' early language and literacy through daily talking, reading, and singing. It outlines evidence-informed practices to build vocabulary, foster social-emotional development, and support children, including dual-language learners, by creating a "language-rich environment." By drawing on research and expertise from a reputable national education authority, the guide offers accessibility, clarity, and adaptability for families of diverse backgrounds and needs. At the same time, because it is a broad overview rather than a detailed curriculum, caregivers may need supplemental, child-specific guidance to tailor it to their child's pace and context.

Why Early Literacy Matters

Little by Little School Readiness Program. Nonprofit Organization Website.

• A non-profit-led initiative focused on boosting early literacy for children ages 0-5, especially in families participating in WIC or other low-income support programs. The site describes how it provides free, high-quality children's books, age-appropriate handouts for parents, and guidance on building early reading and language habits at home. This resource has strong emphasis on equity and access - giving books and literacy support to children who might otherwise lack access to print material - and its practical, family-oriented resource in English and Spanish that recognize diverse linguistic and socioeconomic backgrounds. Its resources are designed for early childhood and operate through WIC centers, so families outside WIC's reach may have limited access, which may limit its applicability for all audiences.

The Science of Reading is an interdisciplinary field that draws on linguistics, psychology, neuroscience, and education research to understand how individuals learn to read. It centers on the idea that proficient reading is built from two interacting skills: decoding (the ability to accurately recognize and sound out written words) and language comprehension (the capacity to understand and derive meaning from spoken and written language). Research advocates for explicit, systematic instruction in foundational skills such as phonemic awareness and phonics, while also emphasizing rich vocabulary and comprehension strategies. The Science of Reading underscores the importance of differentiated teaching methods, high-quality texts, and fostering student agency—moving beyond restrictive labels and levels to support lifelong engagement and success as readers. The Science of Reading is shaping how educators approach literacy instruction through research-based practices, particularly in phonics, vocabulary, comprehension, and equity.

The science of reading explained - Teach. Learn. Grow.

NWEA, 2024. Blog article.

• This article from NWEA provides a clear, parent-friendly overview of the science-of-reading framework and explains how foundational skills like phonemic awareness, phonics, fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension develop. It offers digestible explanations backed by educational research, making it particularly helpful for caregivers who want to understand why certain instructional approaches are used in schools. The source is helpful in translating complex research into accessible language, supported by NWEA’s reputation as a trusted assessment and learning organization. A potential limitation is that the article focuses primarily on school-based instruction, so caregivers may need to seek additional resources for home-specific strategies.

Preschoolers and the Science of Reading

School Library Journal, 2024. Journal Article.

• A long-established, widely respected monthly publication that reviews and discusses books and media for children and beyond — from preschool age through adolescence — including picture books, early readers, and more. SLJ publishes thousands of reviews annually and features articles on literacy, library best practices, and how media choices affect young readers, but it also offers caregivers a curated, expert-driven window into high-quality and age-appropriate reading materials. SLJ has great breadth (covering many formats and age groups), with its editorial expertise rooted in librarianship and child-literacy standards, and its evidence-informed stance — making it a valuable tool for parents seeking good reading choices and guidance for their child. Do note that SLJ is oriented toward librarians and educators rather than specifically to parents, so, some of its language or coverage may be more technical or institution-focused than a typical parent-oriented handbook — meaning caregivers may need to translate recommendations into their family context on their own.

Unraveling the Science of Reading: Understanding the Basics (Part 1)

Be GLAD!, 2024. YouTube Video Series.

• The Be GLAD Training YouTube channel provides videos based on the GLAD (Guided Language Acquisition Design) model, offering strategies that support language development for multilingual learners. Its content includes demonstrations, teacher tips, and explanations of practices that build vocabulary and comprehension — all of which are highly relevant to families of dual-language learners. A key strength is the free, visual, easy-to-follow format that allows caregivers to see strategies in action rather than just read about them. Because the channel is educator-focused, some videos may feel classroom-oriented, requiring caregivers to adapt ideas for home use.

Developmental Milestones of Early Literacy

HealthyChildren.org. Website.

• Hosted by the American Academy of Pediatrics, this resource outlines early-literacy milestones from infancy through early childhood and explains how language and reading skills typically progress. It is grounded in pediatric and developmental research, making it highly credible for caregivers who want evidence-based expectations. The site clearly connects literacy growth to everyday interactions like talking, singing, and reading, helping families understand what they can do at home. Its main limitation is that it provides broad milestones rather than individualized guidance, so parents may need additional support for children developing outside typical ranges.

Developmental Milestones.

Reading Rockets. Website. 

• Reading Rockets’ milestone guide provides detailed, age-specific descriptions of language, reading, and writing skills that typically emerge during the preschool years. It is highly relevant for caregivers seeking to understand what early-literacy progress looks like and how to support it through everyday activities. The site’s strength lies in its clarity, parent-friendly tone, and strong backing from literacy experts and educators. However, because it focuses primarily on typical development, caregivers of children with delays may require supplemental resources or professional evaluation.

Read Together to Support Early Literacy

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC). Website. 

• This resource if a research and practice-based guide aimed at parents and caregivers of infants, toddlers and preschoolers. It explains how sharing books and reading aloud helps very young children begin to understand that pictures and printed words are symbols, builds their vocabulary by exposing them to new language, and introduces them to the conventions of print (how books work, how text is organized). Since it draws on developmental research and frames reading together as a foundation for later literacy, the guidance is both credible and age appropriate. It does a great job of presenting clear, simple, and universally relevant recommendations, making it a trustworthy, practical resource for caregivers regardless of their child's background.