Wildlife Found in New York
The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation provides detailed information about the animals, fish, and plants of New York State. Applying the filters “mammal” and “reptile” under “Species Type” on the left-hand side provides names and information about species found across the state. This resource provides an abundance of important information relevant to each species, though the information on each page varies between wildlife species. Descriptions, habitat information, management, and animal habits are the most frequently discussed topics. This resource does not cover every species of mammal and reptile in New York.
Watchable Wildlife
The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation provides a list of watchable wildlife sites for each region of New York: Long Island, NYC, Catskills, Hudson Valley, Adirondacks, Central New York, and Western New York. Wildlife sites included are state parks, nature preserves, environmental education centers, and wildlife management centers.
Wildlife Health + Safety
The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation provides information and resources addressing wildlife health topics such as animal diseases, how to care for young wildlife if encountered, and protocols for reporting dead wildlife.
This short video by the NYSDEC addresses the common misconception that young wildlife left alone are abandoned. Chip Hamilton, wildlife biologist, encourages individuals to maintain a safe distance from young wildlife until the return of their mother. Individuals are encouraged to contact a regional wildlife office or licensed wildlife rehabilitator if they encounter sick or injured animals.
New York Wildlife Encyclopedia
Scott Shupe's The New York Wildlife Encyclopedia provides an introductory overview of popular New York State wildlife. It includes information about local mammals, birds, reptiles (turtles, lizards, snakes), fish, and amphibians of NY. Information in the encyclopedia ranges from size, presumed range, abundance, variation, habitat, history, breeding information, and images for each species.
