Snakes & Turtles
This resource provides an overview of NYS amphibians and reptiles, specifically focusing on turtle and snake species found in the state. Information about relocating turtles in the road to prevent being struck, facts, food/feeding, and identification of snakes is included. This resource is unique in that it provides a chart with key characteristics to help identify five snakes commonly found in New York.
https://dec.ny.gov/nature/animals-fish-plants/amphibians-reptiles
This resource provides general information about turtles found in New York. It contains general breeding information and information regarding twelve turtles native to the state. This guide includes turtle images, general identifying information, habitat, and diet information for each turtle. It also includes information about the current status of the turtle (concerned, threatened, endangered).
https://extapps.dec.ny.gov/docs/administration_pdf/turtles2.pdf
New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Herp Atlas Project:
Gathers the current status of Reptile and Amphibian populations across the state to document any changes that may be occurring. These resources identify species of turtles and frogs in New York, providing detailed maps that indicate the locations of each species throughout the state.
Turtles Distribution Map: https://extapps.dec.ny.gov/docs/wildlife_pdf/herpatlasturtles.pdf
Toads and Frogs Distribution Map: https://extapps.dec.ny.gov/docs/wildlife_pdf/herpatlastoadsfrogs.pdf
The Amphibians and Reptiles of New York State
James Gibbs' The amphibians and reptiles of New York State: identification, natural history, and conservation provides detailed accounts of 69 different amphibian and reptile species native to New York with a focus on four main themes: identification, distribution, history, and conservation.
Adirondack Region/ Lake George
The Lake George Association highlights turtles, snakes, frogs and toads, salamanders, and lizards of Lake George, NY. They identify (by common and scientific name) five species of turtles, ten species of snakes, nine species of frogs, and nine species of salamanders native to the Lake George area.
This resource provides an overview of Adirondack diversity and biology, identifying the 39 species of amphibians and reptiles located in the Adirondack region. It includes brief descriptions of some of the most commonly spotted species for each category of reptile/amphibian: salamanders, frogs & toads, turtles, and snakes.
https://www.wildadirondacks.org/adirondack-amphibians-reptiles.html