Writing Resources
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - Website: https://owl.purdue.edu
Purdue OWL is a resource for students seeking writing support across various formats. The site offers guidance on popular citation styles such as APA, MLA, and Chicago. In addition to citation help, it provides valuable tips for writing essays, research papers, personal statements, and other academic documents. Students looking for advice on formatting, structure, or style will find comprehensive resources on Purdue OWL. This site is an tool for students looking to improve their academic writing and formatting skills.
Direct links using this resource:
General Writing Supports: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/general_writing/index.html
Research and Citation: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/index.html
Subject Specific Writing: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/subject_specific_writing/index.html
Preventing Plagiarism: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/resources/preventing_plagiarism/index.html
Giving Feedback for Peer Review:
https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/general_writing/the_writing_process/feedback/giving%20feedback_peer%20review.html
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center - Website: https://writingcenter.unc.edu
The UNC Writing Center offers a wide range of writing resources for both high school and college students. The site provides guidance on all stages of writing, from prewriting and revision to research papers. This resource covers specific formats like annotated bibliographies and rhetorical analysis. This tool supports students looking to improve and refine their writing skills across different types of assignments, helping them succeed in their coursework.
Direct links using this resource:
Tips and Tools for Writing a Paper: https://writingcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/
Thesis Statement: https://writingcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/thesis-statements/
Paragraphs: https://writingcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/paragraphs/
Evidence: https://writingcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/evidence/
Brainstorming: https://writingcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/brainstorming/
Transitions: https://writingcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/transitions/
Videos:
Evidence Based Study Strategies (Video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DB1E8PM6o7Q
Growth Mindset (Video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JfdoJxPjp1k
Articles:
Giving Effective Presentations: https://learningcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/giving-effective-presentations/
Class Discussion Strategies: https://learningcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/class-discussion-strategies/
The Study Cycle: https://learningcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/the-study-cycle/
Generative AI for Academic Study: https://learningcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/generative-ai-for-academic-study/
Harvard College Writing Center - Website: https://writingcenter.fas.harvard.edu
Harvard’s Writing Center provides resources to help students enhance their academic writing, suitable for both high school and college students. The site offers practical tips on writing papers, essays, and thesis statements, guiding students through the writing process. This site also provides discipline-specific advice, helping students tailor their writing to various academic fields. With resources on structure, style, and argumentation, the site supports students in developing strong, clear, and effective written work.
Direct links using this resource:
Guide to Using Sources: https://usingsources.fas.harvard.edu/
Writing Resources: https://writingcenter.fas.harvard.edu/pages/resources
Strategies for Essay Writing: https://writingcenter.fas.harvard.edu/pages/strategies-essay-writing
Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison - Website: https://writing.wisc.edu
The UW Writing Center offers a variety of resources to support students with all types of academic writing. The site provides guides for different writing genres, including expository writing, research papers, and reflective essays. Also, it offers resources for peer review and effective drafting techniques. Students can access tools to enhance their writing process from planning to revision. This resource is an essential support for anyone looking to improve their academic writing skills and succeed in their coursework.
Direct links using this resource:
Writer’s Handbook: https://writing.wisc.edu/handbook/
Academic and Professional Writing: https://writing.wisc.edu/handbook/assignments/
Writing Process and Structure: https://writing.wisc.edu/handbook/process/
Improving Your Writing Style: https://writing.wisc.edu/handbook/style/
Grammar and Punctuation: https://writing.wisc.edu/handbook/grammarpunct/
Citing Your Sources: https://writing.wisc.edu/handbook/documentation/
The Writing Center at Georgetown University - Website: https://writingcenter.georgetown.edu
The Writing Center at Georgetown University offers a variety of resources to assist students with academic writing. This resource provides guidance on understanding assignments, as well as strategies to improve writing style and structure. The site also includes helpful tips for writing research papers, including organization, citation, and argumentation. The center's resources are designed to support your writing development, helping with essays, research projects, and other academic writing tasks. This site is a tool for students seeking to enhance their writing skills and academic success.
Direct links using this resource:
Basic Guides to Write and Cite: https://writingcenter.georgetown.edu/basic-guides-to-write-and-cite/
Stanford – Hume Center for Writing and Speaking - Website: https://hume.stanford.edu/writing
The Hume Center for Writing and Speaking at Stanford provides a variety of free resources to help students of all levels improve their writing and communication skills. The center offers tutoring, workshops, and boot camps designed to support both writing and speaking needs. In addition, students have access to materials that cover a wide range of topics. These resources cater to individuals looking to refine their academic writing, enhance public speaking abilities, or develop stronger communication techniques. The Hume Center is a resource for students seeking personalized support in their academic work.
Direct links using this resource:
Top 20 Errors in Undergraduate Writing: https://hume.stanford.edu/resources/student-resources/writing-resources/grammar-resources/top-20-errors-undergraduate-writing
The University of Toronto Writing Resources - Website: https://writing.utoronto.ca
This site offers guides on a variety of writing tasks, including persuasive essays, research papers, and essays with thesis statements. This site provides helpful advice on drafting, revising, and refining written work. Additionally, the resource includes tips on adapting to specific academic writing styles, ensuring clarity and precision in writing. These resources offer tools to improve your writing skills, whether you're drafting an essay or preparing a research paper, making the site a valuable support for students looking to strengthen their academic writing.
Direct links using this resource:
Writer’s Block: https://advice.writing.utoronto.ca/general/writers-block/
The Transition from High School to University Writing: https://advice.writing.utoronto.ca/general/transition-to-university/
Using Topic Sentences: https://advice.writing.utoronto.ca/planning/topic-sentences/
Reading and Researching: https://advice.writing.utoronto.ca/researching/
University of Maryland – Writing Center – Student Resource - Website: https://english.umd.edu/writing-programs/writing-center/student-resources
The University of Maryland Writing Center provides a variety of resources designed to help students enhance their academic writing skills. This site offers detailed guidance on citation practices for popular styles like APA, MLA, and Chicago. It also includes writing strategies to support students in completing different types of assignments, from research papers to essays. The resources support both undergraduate and graduate students, offering clear examples and expert guidance to enhance their writing. Students can utilize this resource for help with drafting, revising, or formatting, as it offers valuable tools to support academic success.
APA Style (American Psychological Association) - Website: https://apastyle.apa.org/
The APA Style website is the official source for the American Psychological Association’s guidelines on citation and formatting. This website offers comprehensive tools, examples, and resources designed to help students apply APA style accurately. The site includes detailed instructions on citing various types of sources, formatting papers, and avoiding plagiarism. This tool also provides students with access to tutorials, sample papers, and a FAQ section to support users at all levels.
Other related resources: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/apa_style/apa_style_introduction.html
MLA Style (Modern Language Association) - Website: https://style.mla.org/
The MLA Style Center is an official resource for learning about MLA citation and formatting guidelines. This website provides free tools, examples, and writing tips tailored for students. Users can access detailed instructions on how to cite a wide variety of sources, including books, articles, and digital media. The site also includes sample papers, a formatting guide, and a helpful FAQ section. The user-friendly design makes it a practical resource for writing or using MLA style in academic work.
Other related resources: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/mla_style/mla_style_introduction.html
Chicago/Turabian Style - Website: https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html
The Chicago Manual of Style is a widely used reference for American English grammar, usage, and citation. This resource provides clear guidance on writing, editing, and formatting documents for academic and professional use. The manual includes two citation systems: Notes and Bibliography, and Author-Date, making it adaptable to various disciplines. Detailed rules help users maintain consistency and clarity in their writing. The online version offers searchable content and helpful tools, making it accessible and practical for students, researchers, and editors.
Sample Citations: https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide/citation-guide-1.html
Harvard Referencing Guide - Website: https://librarydevelopment.group.shef.ac.uk/referencing/harvard.html
The University of Sheffield's Harvard referencing guide provides clear, step-by-step instructions for referencing a variety of sources, including books, journal articles, websites, and multimedia. The guide includes specific examples that align with the university’s academic requirements, helping students apply proper formatting consistently. This resource is especially helpful for students new to the Harvard style, as it breaks down complex citation rules into accessible, easy-to-follow guidelines. By supporting accurate referencing, it helps students maintain academic integrity and avoid plagiarism.
Harvard Referencing Generator: https://www.citethisforme.com/harvard-referencing
Grammarly.com - Website: https://www.grammarly.com/grammar
Grammarly offers writing and grammar resources for students at both the high school and college levels. This site provides tips on grammar, style, and mechanics to help improve writing clarity and effectiveness. The platform is useful for learning grammar basics, syntax rules, punctuation, and overall writing mechanics. With its real-time suggestions and explanations, Grammarly helps users refine their writing and avoid common errors. This resource is ideal for students looking to enhance their writing skills and achieve greater academic success.
Scribbr - Website: https://www.scribbr.com/
Scribbr offers a range of academic resources designed to support students and researchers. It provides services like proofreading, plagiarism detection, and citation generation, all aimed at enhancing academic writing. The proofreading service helps ensure that documents are free from grammatical, spelling, and structural errors. Scribbr's plagiarism checker helps maintain academic integrity by identifying potential issues with copied content. Additionally, the website features AI-powered writing tools that improve the clarity and overall quality of written work, helping students meet academic standards.
Direct links using this resource:
How to Write a Research Paper: https://www.scribbr.com/category/academics/research-paper/
Citation Generator: https://www.scribbr.com/citation/generator/
Google Scholar - Website: https://scholar.google.com
Google Scholar is a free academic search engine that indexes scholarly literature across a wide range of disciplines, including journal articles, theses, books, abstracts, and legal documents. This serves as a valuable tool for students and researchers by offering access to content. The platform includes helpful features such as citation tracking, related article suggestions, and author profiles, which make it easier to follow research developments and evaluate sources. Users can search by keyword, author, or publication to find credible and relevant academic materials. Google Scholar also provides formatted citations in multiple styles, aiding in proper source documentation. This tool’s accessibility and breadth of content make it a convenient and powerful resource for academic research and writing.
JSTOR - Website: https://www.jstor.org
JSTOR is a digital library that offers access to millions of scholarly articles, books, and primary sources across a wide range of academic disciplines. This resource is used by students and researchers for academic research, coursework, and scholarly writing. The platform includes content in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and more, making it a valuable resource for interdisciplinary study. JSTOR is known for its extensive archive of peer-reviewed journals, many of which date back decades, providing historical context and depth for research. This database offers reliable and high-quality sources, which makes it an essential tool for producing well-supported academic work. With powerful search and filtering features, users can easily locate relevant and credible materials for their studies.
ScienceDirect - Website: https://www.sciencedirect.com
ScienceDirect is an online platform that provides access to a wide range of scientific and medical publications, including journals, articles, and book chapters. This resource offers peer-reviewed content across various disciplines, such as physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, and health sciences. This database supports researchers and students finding credible, high-quality sources for their work. With its extensive collection of scholarly resources, ScienceDirect supports advanced academic research and evidence-based practices in numerous fields. Its user-friendly search tools help users efficiently locate relevant information, making it an essential resource for anyone involved in scientific and medical research.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) - Website: https://eric.ed.gov
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a free digital library managed by the U.S. Department of Education, providing access to a wide range of education-related research. This resource offers bibliographic records and full-text materials, including journal articles, research reports, and other educational resources. ERIC is an essential tool for students and researchers, enabling them to efficiently search for and retrieve valuable information. The platform covers various educational topics, making it a key resource for academic research and professional development in the field of education. The easy-to-use interface helps users navigate a vast database of scholarly content, supporting evidence-based practices and research in education.
NOVELny - Website: https://novelnewyork.org/
NOVELny is a free digital library offered by the New York State Library, providing residents of New York access to a vast collection of online resources, including magazines, newspapers, journals, and research articles. Available through participating public libraries, the service covers a wide array of topics such as business, health, education, and literature, making it an invaluable tool for both academic and personal research. Users can search for scholarly articles, industry reports, and general reference materials, enhancing their ability to conduct thorough, credible research. This resource is especially beneficial for students and researchers who need reliable and accessible information for their work. NOVELny is a comprehensive tool for all levels of research.
How to Write a Research Paper. (2013). In An Introduction to Literary Studies.
By Mario Klarer
eBook ISBN9780203068915
How to Write a Research Paper (2013), featured in An Introduction to Literary Studies, provides a detailed guide to writing academic research papers. This text outlines the essential steps involved in the process, such as selecting a topic, conducting thorough research, organizing ideas effectively, and presenting a clear, well-supported argument. The resource is especially useful for students who may be unfamiliar with the academic writing process, offering practical advice on structuring papers and citing sources correctly. By emphasizing critical thinking, evidence-based writing, and clear organization, it helps students develop the skills necessary to produce scholarly, coherent research papers.
An English Grammar
by William Malone Baskervill and James Witt Sewell
Online Access: https://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/14006
An English Grammar by William Malone Baskervill and James Witt Sewell is a comprehensive 19th-century textbook that serves as a clear and systematic guide to English grammar. This text covers essential topics such as sentence structure, parts of speech, syntax, and punctuation, providing students with both theoretical explanations and practical examples. The book is particularly useful for students who need a foundational understanding of grammar rules and how they apply to writing. The text’s clarity and logical structure makes it an excellent resource for anyone seeking a thorough introduction to English grammar. Accessible online via Project Gutenberg, this text remains a valuable reference for students looking to strengthen their grammar skills and improve their writing.
On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft
by Stephen King
ISBN: 978-1982159375
On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King combines memoir with practical advice on writing, making it a valuable resource for students. King shares insights into his own journey as a writer while offering guidance on key aspects of the craft, such as storytelling, character development, and the revision process. He stresses the
importance of writing regularly, reading widely, and developing discipline, which can help students improve their writing skills in any genre. The book provides relatable examples to make complex writing concepts easier to understand, while also providing motivation to students who may be struggling with their own writing.
King, S. (2010). On writing: A memoir of the craft. Scribner.
The Elements of Style
by William Strunk & E.B. White.
ISBN: 978-0205309023
The Elements of Style is a valuable writing resource for students seeking to improve the clarity, precision, and effectiveness of their academic writing. Strunk and White provide straightforward, practical guidelines on grammar, punctuation, and composition, making it especially useful for students who may struggle with overly complex or wordy prose. The book's emphasis on conciseness helps students learn to express their ideas clearly and efficiently, a crucial skill in both academic papers and timed writing assignments. This resource also includes specific examples of common writing errors and stylistic missteps, allowing students to recognize and correct issues in their own work. Whether writing essays, research papers, or professional correspondence, students can apply the principles from this guide to produce polished, effective writing that meets academic standards.
Strunk, W., & White, E. B. (2000). The elements of style (4th ed.). Pearson.
College 101: Best Practices for Studying by UNC Learning Center - Video
The UNC Learning Center offers a series of videos designed to help students strengthen their academic skills. Topics include notetaking from readings and lectures, adopting a growth mindset, managing time effectively using SMART goals, overcoming procrastination, and preparing for exams. The series also covers evidence-based study strategies, Bloom’s revised taxonomy, memory techniques, the role of sleep in academic performance, strategies for multiple-choice exams, managing test anxiety, and post-exam review practices. These resources are ideal for students seeking to improve their grades, enhance their time management, better understand their learning strengths and challenges, or explore issues related to learning disabilities and ADHD.
UMGC Library. (n.d.). College 101: Best practices for studying [YouTube playlist]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLAJcNGZFMoDGYFvpsOPNhUafVZSCA78d3
Grammar Girl - Website: https://www.quickanddirtytips.com/grammar-girl
Grammar Girl provides quick, practical tips on grammar, punctuation, and writing through accessible podcasts and articles. Known for its clear and engaging style, it breaks down complex grammar topics into easy-to-understand advice. The resource is ideal for students looking to improve their writing skills. Grammar Girl offers simple explanations and examples that make it easy to apply the tips to everyday writing. The tool supports students in improving clarity, precision, and confidence in writing.
The College Essay Guy - Website: https://www.collegeessayguy.com
The College Essay Guy offers advice for students working on their college application essays. The site provides a range of helpful resources, including brainstorming worksheets, guides for crafting personal statements, and tips for writing standout college essays. These tools are designed to help students reflect on their experiences and present themselves effectively in their applications. This site offers valuable support throughout the writing process, and provides guidance in brainstorming, drafting, to polishing drafts. This is a resource for students looking to write a compelling and successful college essay.
Direct links using this resource:
College Application Hub: https://www.collegeessayguy.com/college-application-hub
Personal Statement Resources: https://www.collegeessayguy.com/personal-statement