IST 605: Native American History of New York

The New York State Collection of Native American Materials includes a wide range of primary sources documenting Native American history in New York from the 17th through the 20th centuries. The collection features items such as treaties, letters, maps, and government reports that provide insights into land negotiations, cultural practices, and political interactions between Indigenous communities and colonial, state, and federal authorities. Examples include agreements with the Mohican and Lenape peoples, letters involving the Iroquois Confederacy, and reports on disputes concerning the Seneca Nation. This collection is a valuable resource for studying the relationships between Native American tribes and other governments. It provides digitized materials alongside additional onsite resources for further exploration.

The "American Indians in Colonial New York Exhibition" is a permanent digital collection within the New York State Archives. Here you will find digital copies of four major documents in New York History: "Message from Native Americans to Acting Governor James DeLancey regarding hostilities," "Acknowledgement of war service - Oneida Indians," "Petition of Sarah Robins to Governor Robert Hunter," and the "Declaration of Cornelis Cornelissen and other soldiers regarding the destruction of Jochem Pietersen Kuyter's house by the Indians."

This digital archive is a collaboration between Cornell University, Onöndowa'ga:' (Seneca) partners, and cultural institutions to present materials from the White Springs and Townley-Read archaeological sites, occupied by the Seneca people from 1688 to 1754. The platform provides detailed information about daily life at these sites through artifacts, plant and animal remains, and excavation photos. Designed with input from Onöndowa'ga:' partners, the collection emphasizes accessibility for descendant communities, enabling them to connect with their heritage while also supporting research in anthropology, history, and Indigenous studies. Users can explore site-specific materials or search across both locations, with features highlighting different aspects of Onöndowa'ga:' labor and daily practices. Feedback from Onöndowa'ga:' community members is encouraged to enhance future iterations of the archive.

This open access digital collection highlights the influential role of Haudenosaunee women in shaping early feminist movements. In Haudenosaunee society, women held significant political, social, and spiritual power, including nominating and removing chiefs, controlling property, and ensuring representation at councils. Their autonomy over their bodies, absence of domestic violence, and role in decision-making inspired 19th-century Euro-American women, who saw a living example of gender equality. This collection features artifacts like images of Caroline Parker Mountpleasant, a Haudenosaunee woman from the Seneca Nation, and symbolic depictions of figures such as Sky Woman and Jigönsahsé (the Peace Queen). These pieces emphasize how Haudenosaunee traditions offered a revolutionary model of freedom and agency that fueled the vision of women’s suffrage advocates in New York State.

The American Indian and Alaska Native Records collection at the National Archives provides extensive documentation of U.S. government interactions with Native peoples from 1774 through the mid-1990s. The collection includes allotment records, census records, military service records, school records, materials from programs like the Indian Division of the Civilian Conservation Corps, and much more. These records, created by federal agencies, reflect the evolving policies and relationships between the U.S. government and Native communities. While some materials are digitized, many remain accessible only in paper or microfilm format at National Archives research locations. Researchers are encouraged to consider the geographic location and historical context of their topic to navigate this vast collection effectively

The Library of Congress’s collection of documents relating to the Indian Removal Act provides a comprehensive view of one of the most significant and tragic policies in U.S. history. Enacted on May 28, 1830, the Indian Removal Act authorized the exchange of Native lands within state borders for lands west of the Mississippi. While some tribes relocated voluntarily, many resisted, leading to the forcible removal of the Cherokee in 1838–1839 and the devastating Trail of Tears, during which approximately 4,000 Cherokees perished. This digital collection includes a wide array of materials, such as Congressional debates, papers from Martin Van Buren and Andrew Jackson, historical newspapers, maps, and printed ephemera. Together, these resources offer valuable insights into the policy’s implementation and its profound impact on Native peoples and American history.