Database
This database, 
which is free to access for Colonie Library cardholders, can help you search for books to read to your child. The database entry for each book includes the book's title, author, and publication date, a brief plot summary, and information about the book's settings, subjects, time period, and main characters. In addition, the entry will also include a link to the Upper Hudson Library System's catalog so you can view the book's availability. Some of the entries will also provide links to read-alikes for the book you are viewing. Additional features of the database include:
- Author Search
- Search for a specific name or by traits such as ethnicity and gender
- Browse books by genre
- Hundreds of book lists separated into the categories "award winners," "expert picks," and "librarian favorites"
This database is a very helpful book selection tool given its variety of features for exploring authors, genres, and titles and its informative entries for a large number of books.
Searching in Gale Books and Authors
This database has both basic and advanced search capabilities, and, like with Gale OneFile Information Science, you can use different search techniques to create a more precise search.
- Surround phrases of two or more words with quotation marks so the database will look for results that only include that exact phrase.
- ex. "Magic Tree House"
- Link keywords using the Boolean operator OR to search for results that are related to either one word or the other. This will expand your search results.
- ex. butterfly OR moth
- Link keywords using the Boolean operator AND to search for only results that contain both of the words together. This will narrow your search results.
- ex. hamster AND princess
- Use the asterisk (*) wildcard at the end of a keyword to search for results related to similar words with different endings. This will expand your search results.
- ex. Searching for farm* will provide you will results related to farm, farms, farming, farmer, and farmhouse.
- All of these search techniques can be combined in one search, but be sure to use parentheses to indicate the order of operations that the database should follow.
- ex. Searching for ("Junie B. Jones" OR "My Weird School") AND graduat* will cause the database to first search for books that are in either the Junie B. Jones or My Weird School series and then search for books within those series that are related to graduation, graduates, or graduating.
Once you conduct your search, this database provides you with several different options for filtering your results. The filter categories include:
- Audience Level
- Author
- Book Category
- Character
- Genre
- Subject
- Time Period
Library Catalog
Upper Hudson Library System Catalog
This is the catalog for the Colonie Library as well as all of the other libraries in the Upper Hudson Library System. When you conduct a search in this catalog, each result will describe the format of an item, at which library and where on the shelf the item is located, a summary of the item, and information about the item's creator, publication date, subject, and genre. Conducting a search in this catalog could help you to discover and locate books that your child will enjoy listening to you read. Conveniently, if you find a book that you are interested in checking out, you can click on the "Request it" button, which will prompt you to log in to your library account so you can make the request. This is a valuable resource for book selection since it puts the collections of 36 different libraries at your fingertips!
Searching the Catalog
You can use the advanced search techniques listed above in the Upper Hudson catalog, too. Although, the catalog has different filters for narrowing down your search results. They include:
- Availability
- Collection (Allows you to select a specific library branch)
- Format (This will be important if you just want to search for books to read aloud!)
- Genre
- Language
- Publication Date
- Tag (A label often related to a theme, genre, or collection name)
In order to find books that may interest your child, you can try doing a simple keyword search using a word related to their interests, hobbies, or favorite characters (ex. unicorns, basketball, Pete the Cat).
If you would like to use the catalog to search for more books related to reading aloud, trying using the phrase "oral reading" or searching for either of these Dewey decimal numbers: 372.45 or 372.452.
Web Page
PBS KIDS for Parents Booklists
This web page contains links to 103 different book lists curated by members of the PBS KIDS for Parents team. Each list has its own theme, and the lists are clearly organized into 13 different categories, which include "Be Inspired," "Laugh Out Loud," "Celebrate Diversity," and "Celebrate the Holidays." When viewing the books on a specific list, parents and caregivers are able to view the book's cover, title, author/illustrator, recommended age range, and a short description of its contents. While age ranges can be helpful guides toward books your child will enjoy, remember that, since every child is different, it is possible that children both younger and older than the specified age range will enjoy the book too. This web page is a well-organized resource for parents and guardians who are looking for books on different themes and who are looking for recommendations that feature diverse books.
*If you find a book you are interested in using this resource, try searching for it in our library catalog to see if a copy is available at any of the libraries in the Upper Hudson system.