Map of the Region
A Traveler’s Map of the Alps – Gale: National Geographic
This article contains nine maps of the mountain ranges that make up the Alps and depicts the architecture and sites to see throughout the region. It also describes the history, geography, and customs of Alpine communities. Travelers will gleam insight into what the various alpine regions have to offer in terms of popular activities and attractions. This article provides a glorious panoramic map of the Bernese Oberland Mountain range and how the train and road system connect the communities in the region.
Travel Guides to Central Europe
Lonely Planet's guide to train travel in Europe : plan sustainable and stress-free journeys throughout Europe by Call Number: 914.04 LONISBN: 183869496XPublication Date: 2022The guidebook is full of inspiration and tips to help readers prepare for their international rail journey. It describes the various international routes, hubs, and places to stop along the way. This travel guide provides information about the various trains you may encounter and strategies for transferring between stations. It contains a foldout map of the major rail lines throughout Europe.
Rick Steves’ Europe Through the Back Door by Call Number: 914.045 EUR 2024ISBN: 1641715642Publication Date: 2024Rich Steves is an authority on European travel who has been creating guidebooks and public media programs for decades. His travel skills handbook is chalked full of tips on how to plan your trip, book your flights and transportation, and even how to pack. He shares his travel philosophy to help you get the most out of your trip, connect with locals, avoid tourist traps, and spend less money. He highlights must see locations in each country and discusses travel issues specific to those traveling alone, people with disabilities, members of the LGBTQIA+ community, and people of color.
The rough guide to Europe on a budget. by Call Number: 914.045 ROU 2022ISBN: 1789197384Publication Date: 2022Provides practical advice on travelling around Europe, and what to do and see and in each of the 34 different countries. Contains budget friendly recommendations on hostels, bars, and cheap restaurants to help travelers get more bang for their buck. The book also provides tips on treating yourself, festivals, outdoor activities, and nightlife hot spots in each city. This is an ideal guide for a young adult on a tight budget wanting to soak in the sights and festivities of Europe
Select "Explore Europe" and browse to learn more information about traveling to various European countries. Learn about top cities and regions to visit within each European nation, see recommended itineraries, and train tips. Here you can find episodes of Rick Steves Europe television show, podcast, city walk maps and audio tours.
Navigate to "Travel Tips" for insight into travel planning, staying connected with smart devices, packing light, and transportation options.
Discover information about various destinations or read articles for travel inspiration
Explore guides on cities, countries, or regions
Once you select where you would like to visit, find country specific guides to help you plan. The following is an example of a focused guide you can find at your local Albany Public Library Branch by searching the catalog for the country by name AND guidebook:
Rick Steves’ Switzerland by Call Number: 914.94 RIC 2023ISBN: 1641715197Publication Date: 2023Rich Steves' guidebooks are full of helpful advice about how to budget your time, provides rankings of must-see highlights, and what touristy regions to avoid. The book is broken into segments by region and provides recommendations on accommodations and restaurant for each town. It also offers self-guided walking tours, maps for exploring regions, and details on scenic railway journeys throughout Switzerland.
Building your Itinerary
- Wanderlog (app)
A helpful App for building your itinerary and planning your trip in a collaborative way. You can organize reservations for flights, hotels, and excursions. The app recommends attractions to see in the area and maps out your plans to help you visualize your path. It also keeps track of your expenses to help you stay on budget.
Provides reviews on restaurants, attractions, and accommodations
- Hike Project (database)
A crowd sources guide for hikers to share their knowledge of trails. Users can add and rate trails, update conditions, and leave photos and comments about their experience. This international database provides details and tips about the route, and information on its level of difficulty. The app is designed to help you plan an adventure and stay on trail as you explore. The coolest feature is the interactive trail map with an elevation profile.
Getting Around Using Public Transportation
Travel by Train
Weigh the prices, perks, and flexibility of the different train passes. Some passes are country specific while others offer the flexibility to hop from country to country.
- SBB: National Railway Company of Switzerland
Look up train schedules, purchase a Swiss Travel Pass and make reservations to travel by panoramic train. Here you can also find out what various train stations have to offer in terms of luggage lockers and currency exchange. Some stations even offer luggage delivery. This website provides updates on expected occupancy levels, travel notices, construction work, delays, and interrupted service.
- Eurail - Rail pass which allows travel across 33 countries
- Deutsche Bahn: National Railway Company of Germany