This part is the heart of the guide! It contains resources that will help you to pick up that crochet hook! When it comes to a craft like crocheting, it can be difficult to learn without watching someone and following along with them. Thus, the chosen videos show you every step of the process, whether it is tying a slip knot, creating a chain, or learning your first stitch. It also keeps in mind individuals who are left-handed. It can be difficult to learn crocheting from someone whose dominant hand is different from yours. In a sense, you would have to do everything opposite/backwards, which can be extremely challenging, especially if you are just learning! Thus, there is a left-handed option for one of the resources below, so that all crocheters can benefit from the use of the tutorials. Also, this section contains a video of helpful tips and tricks. Some people enjoy using books, so this section even contains a print resource. Finally, there is a section intended to help you connect with the crocheting community.
Stitch Encyclopedia: Crochet from Bunka Publishing Bureau
This resource is from the Stitch Encyclopedia, and it contains some helpful material to get started, especially if you prefer looking at a book to watching a video. Beginners should focus on the first part of the encyclopedia, which contains information about how to hold the needle, how to tie a stitch know (the very first step!), and gives instructions about how to crochet using common types of stiches. As you improve, you can move through the encyclopedia and try other more complicated stiches and check out the additional information. Beginners may also want to check out the the "Tools and Tips" section at the back of the encyclopedia, which outlines some useful materials and skills. This encyclopedia also contain helpful pictures to illustrate instructions, and it is a great way to get used to reading crochet instructions. Find it at a library near you using WorldCat.