Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

INF 100X: ( I INF 100X) Internet and Information Access: Home

Information Resources

Databases and Indexes

Use the Databases page on the University Libraries' website to choose a database.   Or click on the link below.

And, Or and NOT (Boolean Operators)

The Boolean Operators, And, Or and Not, are used to communicate your results preferences to the database.   There are many guides on using Boolean Operators available online.  Here are some links:

Minerva, the online catalog

Minerva, the University Libraries' online catalog allows you to search for items that the libraries' own or to which they have access.  This includes:

  • Books
  • Journals (but not individual articles)
  • Government Documents
  • Audio and Visual materials
  • Maps
  • Links to Databases
  • More

Databases

Databases are used to find articles, documents, chapters and other specific information on a topic.  

General databases will help to find some articles on a lot of topics e.g EBSCO Academic Search Complete

Subject Specific Databases will help to find a lot of articles on a smaller range of subjects.  There is more in depth coverage in subject specific databases. Use the databases and indexes link on the University Libraries' website to access useful databases.

Subject Guide

What is a scholary resource?

It is not always easy to determine if an information resource is scholarly.  Sometimes you have to examine the resource carefully.