This is the "Home" page of the "RSSW 600 Social Welfare Policy and Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RSSW 600 Social Welfare Policy and Services  

Guide for the students in RSSW 600 sections to assist with the policy identification and analysis assignment.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.albany.edu/rssw600 Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Researching policy requires multidisciplinary research. In addition to the basic social welfare literature, one needs to include sources which present statistical data, factual information, reports on research, legislative or legal information, agency-based reports, position papers, etc., as well as professional journal articles and books. Typically, a combination of sources are required for a complete gathering of various perspectives related to a certain social policy issue. 

 For additional assistance, students may also wish to take the Resources in Federal Public Policy workshop: register online

 

Identifying a Policy

CQ Researcher Plus: provides "plain English" overviews of important Federal public policy issues. Online and in print: DEWEY REF JK 1 C66

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Social Work - Terry Mizrahi; Larry E. Davis
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: HV 12 E53 2008
ISBN: 9780195306613
Publication Date: 2008-04-17
***ONLINE VERSION OF THIS IS AVAILABLE BY CLICKING THE TITLE***
This encyclopedia provides an overview of more than 400 social welfare topics and definitions for social welfare and related terminology. It is an excellent place to begin research in social welfare because it lays out the background, scope and issues for each topic. There are useful bibliographies at the end of each article. Volume IV includes biographies of prominent persons in the social work field, the NASW code of ethics, a chronology of the field, and acronym

Cover Art
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare - Barbara W. White; Karen M. Sowers
Call Number: Dewey Library Reference HV 40 C635 2008
ISBN: 9780471769972
Publication Date: 2008-03-07
This four volume handbook covers the Profession of Social Work, Human Behavior in the Social Environment, Social Work Practice, Social Policy and Policy Practice. It has excellent in-depth overviews of pressing issues in these subject areas.

Cover Art
Social Work Speaks:National Association of Social Workers policy statements, 2009- 2012 - NASW Press Staff
Call Number: Dewey Library / HV 88 N687X 2009
ISBN: 9780871013842
Publication Date: 2009-02-15

Social Welfare, Gerontology and Reference Bibliographer

Profile Image
Elaine Lasda Bergman
Contact Info
Dewey Graduate Library
University at Albany
135 Western Avenue
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 442-3695
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip