New York State Government Information

User-friendly, one-stop access to data from New York State agencies, localities, and the federal government. The website, features economic development, health, recreation, and public services information.

State and county quick statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau.

New York State profile from the U.S. Census Bureau

Data from the Census Bureau and Bureau of Labor Statistics presented in a 2003 report by the Public Policy Institute.

Article five of the first New York State Constitution of 1777 required that a census of its electors and inhabitants be taken "once in every seven years, after the taking of the said first census." The second New York State Constitution, 1821, mandated that an enumeration of the inhabitants be taken in 1825 and at the end of every ten years thereafter. The Census of 1925 was the last census taken by the State. The New York State Library has scanned volumes of the NYS Census. The Libraries also have the 1795-1925 censuses on microfiche.

A project of the New York State Library

This list of archives was compiled by New York State History Net

Searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and enslavers in the states of New York, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut and New Jersey.

The Checklist is a monthly compilation of New York State documents acquired by the New York State Library. Links for 2017-current go to a collection of digitized publications. 1994-2016 are .pdf versions of the paper issue and are arranged in agency/classification order. UAlbany Libraries has the paper version back to 1947: GovDoc Ref J 86.2 N7 L52 COP [year]. Also, consult the Dictionary Catalog of Official Publications of the State of New York. The Libraries have 1973-1989: GovDoc Ref J 86.2 N7 L52 DCO [year]. The Dictionary Catalog contains citations of books cataloged by the NYSL and provides subject access to the Checklist.

A list of publicly searchable databases produced by New York State agencies, sponsored by the Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association and maintained by librarians and government information specialists.

The NYS GILS provides a single point of access to information services provided by New York State Government agencies, the State Legislature and the Judiciary. The GILS site is hosted by the New York State Library.

The New York State Library is digitizing New York State government publications and making them available through their online catalog.

The official page of the state of New York includes a subject directory.