Last Updated: Nov 13, 2014
- American History in Video
Streaming video collection. Includes video from the 1890s to the 1980s, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel. Also includes hundred of history documentaries.
- American Journeys
A collaborative project of the Wisconsin Historical Society and National History Day, this site contains eyewitness accounts of North American exploration.
- American Memory
Primary source and archival materials relating to American culture and history from the Library of Congress.
- Civil Rights Digital Library
Includes unedited film archives of news stations with coverage of the civil rights movement.
- Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic; save items to customized lists; and share their lists with others. Users can also explore digital exhibitions curated by the DPLA’s content partners and staff.
- Digital Schomburg
Part of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library, this site provides a selection of digitized images and texts, manuscript and archival finding aids.
- Discovering American Women's History Online
Database to identify digitized primary sources relating to American women's history.
- Documenting the American South
From the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this site provides primary sources related to southern history, literature, and culture, including books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
- Google Books
Google is scanning books from major research libraries in the United States. Users can search the full text of scanned books and can use the advanced search feature to find primary sources.
- History Matters
Created by the American Social History Project / Center for Media and Learning (Graduate Center, CUNY) and the Center for History and New Media (George Mason University), this site includes "primary documents in text, image, and audio about the experiences of ordinary Americans throughout U.S. history. All of the documents have been screened by professional historians and are accompanied by annotations that address their larger historical significance and context."
- In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives
Provides in-depth field and key word searches across letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs and autobiographies in scholarly works that are freely available on the Web and in databases published by Alexander Street. Fulltext access is available for 75% of the materials in this database.
- Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. It is a good place to search web sites that no longer exist. The sources available from this site include web pages, books, audio, and moving images.
- New York State Digital Collections
- The Digital Collections
A gateway to matierals held by the New York State Archives, New York State Museum and New York State Library.
- Archive Finder
Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
- Minerva - UAlbany catalog
Limit by "archival materials"; use terms such as correspondence, letters, personal narratives, diaries, etc.