In the Reference Collection
Online Resources
- A Dictionary of Food & Nutrition
Contains over 6,000 entries covering all aspects of food, nutrition, diet and health. - Allrecipes.comSearchable database of a large collection of recipes submitted by users; site include options to create your own "recipe box" to store, rate, and add notes to recipes.
- An A-Z of Food and Drink
Over 1,300 entries with the origin, meaning, and development of gastronomic terms. - Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

- Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook ProjectFrom the Michigan State University Library and the MSU Museum, this is an online searchable collection of "some of the most influential and important cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century." Users can view digital images of the pages of each cookbook. Includes full-text transcriptions.
- Food NetworkSite of the cable TV network that includes a searchable recipe collection from various broadcasts, features, cookbook reviews and forums.
- HEARTH: Home Economics ArchiveFrom the Mann Library at Cornell University, this is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines.
- Recipe SourceSearchable database of thousands of recipes that may also be browsed by region and type of dish.
- Slow Food USASlow Food is a grass roots movement that "links the pleasure of food with a commitment to community and the environment. Includes information about Slow Food programs, events, and chapters
- The Cook's ThesaurusThe Cook's Thesaurus is a cooking encyclopedia that covers thousands of ingredients and kitchen tools. Entries include pictures, descriptions, synonyms, pronunciations, and suggested substitutions.
Your Subject Specialist |
Contact Info University Library LI-128 University at Albany 1400 Washington Ave. Albany, NY 12222 (518) 442-3830 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Reference |




Loading...
