In the Reference Collection
Blockbusters: A reference guide to film genres
Call Number: ULIB REF PN 1995 G663 2006
ISBN: 0313330948
Critical dictionary of film and television theory
Call Number: ULIB REF PN 1993.45 C75 2001
ISBN: 0415162181
Film Reviews & Information
- All Movie GuideReviews and information on 130,000+ films worldwide
- Film & Television Literature Index
Comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Publications include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, Variety, and more as well as technical publications such as SMPTE (Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers. Covers also the international film & television industries and cultures, including publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Filmihullu, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio. - Film DatabaseBrowsable site that offers box office statistics of films released since 1989.
- Film Literature Index"The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles". This online source contains 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
- Internet Movie DatabaseDetailed data on top films with movie goers' ratings, plot outlines, filmography and biography of those involved in movie making, box office analysis and much more. Also provides movie showtimes near you.
- MetacriticA searchable database of reviews of film, video, DVD, television, music, books and games. Reviews are done by a "carefully-screened group of the most respected critics." Each review includes a "metascore" that combines all of the individual reviewer scores. This site was one of the winners of the "Best Free Reference Web Sites" of 2006, awarded by the Reference and User Services Association of the American Library Association.
- Motion Picture Division Film Script Index 1927-1965Search the collection of the New York State Archives and order a film script.
- Movie Review Query EngineSearchable collection of thousands of movie reviews posted on a large number of Web sites.
- Rotten TomatoesFilm reviews and entertainment news
- Senses of CinemaThe Senses of Cinema website is "devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema". The journal itself is open to a number of different critical approaches to understanding and analyzing film. Based in Australia, and funded in part by the Australian Film Commission, the site contains reviews of films, interviews with filmmakers, film polls, and movie soundtracks. One particularly compelling section is the "Great Directors" area. Here visitors can read intelligent and intriguing profiles
Your Subject Specialist |
Contact Info University Library LI-128 University at Albany 1400 Washington Ave. Albany, NY 12222 (518) 442-3830 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Reference |




Loading...
