Last Updated: Dec 9, 2014
Speeches are published in a variety of sources and can be identified in serveral ways. Many published collections of speeches are listed in the online catalog (Minerva) under the subject headings SPEECHES, ADDRESSES, ETC. and AMERICAN ORATIONS. The Speech Index [ULIB AI 3 S85 1966] is the best way to find out which speeches are in published collections.
Other sources of speeches:
- Congressional Record [GOVDOC J85 X/a:] - 1873+. Includes speeches made before Congress. Printed volumes for the most recent three years are in the Government Publications area. Earlier volumes are on microfilm.
- Lend Me Your Ears: Great Speeches in History. [ULIB REF PN6122 L4 197]
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States [ULIB J 80 A283] - Contains the public messages, speeches and stateemnts of the President. Includes papers from Presidents Hoover through Clinton. Updated by the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. Public papers of Presidents George H.W. Bush, Clinton, George W. Bush, and Obama are available online.
- Representative American Speeches [ULIB PS 668 B3] -- 1939+. Reprints speeches "on current issues and social trends in the United States and other countries." Each volume also contains brief biographical information for the individuals whose speeches are reprinted.
- Vital Speeches of the Day [ULIB Per PN 6121 V5] - 1934+. Prints in full the important addresses of contemporary leaders of public opinion in the fields of economics, politics, education, sociology, business and labor. Strong emphasis on government and big business. Also available in Ebsco Academic Search Complete.
- Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995. [ULIB REF PS 663 M55 V64]
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents [Per J 80 A284] - Aug. 2, 1965+. Includes "transcripts of the Presidents' news conferences, messages to Congress, public speeches," etc. Annual index. Also available in Ebsco Academic Search Complete.
- American Memory
Provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps and sheet music that document the American experience. From the Library of Congress and other institutions.
- American Rhetoric
Index to and growing database of full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events. Also includes a complete index to and full text and audio database of the 100 most significant American political speeches of the 20th century.
- From Revolution to Reconstruction: Presidents
Provides inaugural addresses, State of the Nation (Union) addresses, and other speeches by Presidents of the United States.
- Gifts of Speech
Speeches made by influential contemporary women
- Graduation Speeches
Transcript of graduation speeches collected at the Yahoo! site.
Selected speeches of all the Presidents, with an emphasis on Inaugural and State of the Union speeches, plus writings and biographies, maintained by George M. Welling, University of Groningen, The Netherlands.
- Social Justice Speeches Project
This site focuses on speeches about social justice, primarily multicultural issues and women's rights.
- Speeches of Abraham Lincoln
Transcripts of selected major speeches from the Abraham Lincoln Online site.
- TED: Ideas Worth Spreading
More than 200 talks from the annual Teaching, Entertainment and Design conference, which "brings together the world's most fascinating thinkers and doers, who are challenged to give the talk of their lives (in 18 minutes)." Videos are released under a Creative Commons license, so they can be freely shared and reposted.
- The American Presidency Project
Transcripts of presidential and vice presidential debates dating back to 1960.
- The History Channel: Speeches
Archive of famous speeches from around the world. Speeches arranged alphabetically by speaker's last name. Also search for speeches by categories or keywords. May include orator's biographical information.
- The History Place: Great Speeches Collection
This site covers more than fifty famous speeches from American and World speakers. Select entries include biographies of speakers, audio files, photographs, and links to additional information. Speeches from Napoleon Bonaparte, Susan B. Anthony, John F. Kennedy and others are included.
- Voices of Democracy Project
The Voices of Democracy Project is designed to promote the study of great speeches and public debates and aims to foster understanding of the nation's principles and history to promote civic engagement among humanities students, teachers, and scholars.