Last Updated: Apr 18, 2016
Countries and their Cultures
Call Number: ULIB REF GN 307 C68 2001
- A Guide to Countries of the World
Overviews of countries covering the contemporary social, economic, religious and political issues that shape the country. Also contains vital statistics such as GDP, life expectancy, income distribution, and internet use.
- A to Z Maps Online
A database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps and other thematic maps.
- U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
From the U.S. Department of State, this site provides information on 198 countries, including both brief facts and longer entries about the people, history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, and travel and business.
- World Factbook
Facts and figures about the countries of the world from the CIA.
- Country Studies
Area handbooks for more than 100 countries prepared by the Library of Congress. Includes a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of the country.
- Doing Business
This site, from the World Bank provides "objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational level." Country reports cover starting a business, dealing with licenses, registering property and enforcing contracts. The site is viewable in English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Arabic and Chinese. Reports are freely downloadable.
- Economist Intelligence Unit
Country Reports, Country Profiles and Market Indicators and Forecasts.
- Statesman's Yearbook
Published annually since 1864. Provides reliable information on every country in the world including coverage of history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure.