New York HistoryU.S HistoryWorld History
Adirondack HistoryEnvironmental History
This is the "News" page of the "History Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History Research Guide  

Last Updated: Jan 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.albany.edu/history Print Guide RSS Updates

News Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Histroy Books(selected)

Cover Art
Holy warriors : a modern history of the Crusades - Jonathan Phillips
Call Number: University Library / D 157 P55 2009
ISBN: 9781400065806
University of London historian and History Channel contributor Phillips (The Second Crusade) superbly condenses the four centuries of the Crusades into a single, easily accessible volume. Islamic as well as Western sources are utilized to demonstrate the similarities between jihad and crusading. The narrative weaves a tragic tapestry, beginning with the bloodily successful First Crusade, through the establishment of the Crusader states, to the failure of subsequent Crusades, the victories of the Muslim counter-Crusade, and the continuing legacy of religious and cultural hatred that permeates the Holy Land. Individuals such as the charismatic Queen Melisende of Jerusalem; the Leper King, Baldwin IV; the Muslim warriors Nur ad-Din and Saladin; England's Richard the Lionheart; and many others play major and minor roles in the creation of a past that still lives today.

Cover Art
The Battle of Waterloo - Jeremy Black.
Call Number: University Library / DC 242 B53 2010
ISBN: 9781400067374
Eminent British military historian Black narrates Napoléon’s final defeat in 1815 amid an analysis of military methods of the period. Reviewing theories for deployment of infantry, artillery, and cavalry, Black recounts their practical results in the Napoleonic Wars, rating the 1812 Battle of Borodino as the harbinger of Waterloo.

Cover Art
Cambridge history of ancient China : from the origins of civilization to 221 B.C. - Michael Loewe and Edward L. Shaughnessy
Call Number: University Library Reserves / DS 741.5 C35 2007
ISBN: 9780521470308
The Cambridge History of Ancient China provides a survey of the cultural, intellectual, political, and institutional developments of the pre-imperial period. The four subperiods of Shang, Western Zhou, Spring and Autumn and Warring States, are described on the basis of literary and material sources and the evidence of recently found manuscripts.

Cover Art
The history of White people - Nell Irvin Painter.
Call Number: University Library / E 184 A1 P29 2010
ISBN: 9780393049343
Historian Painter centers her momentous study of racial classification on the slave trade and the nation-building efforts which dominated the United States in the 18th century, when thinkers led by Ralph Waldo Emerson strove to explain the rapid progress of America within the context of white superiority. Her research is filled with frequent, startling realizations about how tenuous and temporary our racial classifications really are.

Cover Art
FDR’s funeral train : a betrayed widow, a Soviet spy, and a presidency in the balance - Robert Klara
Call Number: University Library / E 807 K56 2010
ISBN: 9780230619142
"In April 1945, the funeral train carrying the body of Franklin D. Roosevelt embarked on a three-day, thousand-mile odyssey through nine states before reaching the president’s home where he was buried. It passed with darkened windows; few gave thought to what might be happening aboard. A closer look inside the train, however, would reveal a Soviet spy about to leak a state secret, a newly widowed Eleanor Roosevelt, who just found out that her husband’s mistress was in the room when he died, and the entire family of incoming President Harry S. Truman. The thrilling story of what took place behind the Pullman shades, where women whispered and men tossed back highballs, has never been told. On the occasion of the sixty-fifth anniversary of FDR’s death, Klara chronicles the action-packed three-day train ride during which, among other things, Truman hammered out the policies that would galvanize a country in mourning and win the Second World War"--Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Slavery in Indian country : the changing face of captivity in early America - Christina Snyder
Call Number: University Library / E 85 S69 2010Library Info
ISBN: 9780674048904
The American South, a familiar setting for bondage, reveals a new story, in the hands of Indiana University assistant professor of history Snyder, who explores the Indian practice of enslaving prisoners of war in this instructive and remarkably readable book. The South is more than the Confederacy, she asserts; the major Native American nations (Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole) were not merely villains or victims or foils, but leading players in slaveholding. She reaches back to early Indian captivity practices—and how conceptions of captives and their roles in Indian communities changed with the arrival of Europeans and Africans.

Cover Art
Russian orientalism : Asia in the Russian mind from Peter the Great to the emigration - David Schimmelpenninck van der Oye.
Call Number: University Library / DS 32.9 R9 S35 2010
ISBN: 9780300110630
The West has been accused of seeing the East in a hostile and deprecatory light, as the legacy of nineteenth-century European imperialism. In this highly original and controversial book, David Schimmelpenninck van der Oye examines Russian thinking about the Orient before the Revolution of 1917. Exploring the writings, poetry, and art of representative individuals including Catherine the Great, Alexander Pushkin, Alexander Borodin, and leading orientologists, Schimmelpenninck argues that the Russian Empire’s bi-continental geography, its ambivalent relationship with the rest of Europe, and the complicated nature of its encounter with Asia have all resulted in a variegated and often surprisingly sympathetic understanding of the East among its people.

 

American History in Video

The American History in Video collection is now available through the Databases and Indexes pages. The collection includes more than 5,000 documentary titles dealing with the Study of American History. It also includes many archival footages and early news reels such as Universal Newsreel (1929-1967) and United Newsreel (1942-1946). I believe it will be helpful not only for history but also for many other subject areas.

 

You can watch them online and perform keyword search of the scripts. Since the film and its scripts are synchronized, when you do a full text search of scripts and then click the results, it will bring you to the right segment where your search term is mentioned.

 

The collection also has many advanced feature which can be used for both instruction and research. (i.e. making short clips, creating playlists, etc...)

 

Just for giving you a sense of the sources available, I will attach an interesting clip that I found. I entitled it as "Those were the days."

 

http://ahiv.alexanderstreet.com/View/725120/Clip/5047

 

Also, there are many interesting materials like one below.

 

Your subject librarian

Profile Image
Jesus Alonso-Regalado
Contact Info
University Library, LI-204
University at Albany, SUNY
1400 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12222
Phone: (518) 442-3554
Fax: (518) 442-3567
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip