Directories
This is the "Resources" page of the "Library and Information Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library and Information Science  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.albany.edu/library-informationscience Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Resources

Atlas:

Lankes, R. David The Atlas of New Librarianship. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 2011

Lankes posits that " The missionof librarians is to improve society through facilitating knowledge creation in their communities".   He examines this premise from the view of various stakeholders including Librarians and LIS educators to provide an atlas to the future of the profession.   Digital environments, the transition of traditional library skills and the importance of action and activism are examined in this large and appealing volume.

Encyclopedias:

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science. New York: Marcel Dekker, 1968-2003. Multi-volume set.

A large, multi-volume work, particularly useful for basic information in the fields of library and information science. The series is arranged in a standard alphabetical sequence of topics. Although much of the material in the original volumes is seriously dated, the set, until recently, has been continually updated by annual supplemental volumes. DEWEY REF Z 1006 E57

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, second edition. New York: Marcel Dekker, 2003. Multi-volume set.

This four-volume work is a continuation of the previously listed work. The four volumes cover subjects from "Abstracts and Abstracting" to "Zoological Park and Aquarium Libraries and Archives." All the subjects for all four volumes are indexed on the front and back covers of each individual volume. DEWEY REF Z 1006 E57 2003

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, third edition DEWEY REF Z 1006 E57 2010

International Encyclopedia of Information and Library Science, second edition. New York: Routledge, 2003. 1 vol.

This work lists and defines many terms and concepts relevant to information science. DEWEY REF Z 1006 I57 2003

International Dictionary of Library Histories. David H. Stam, Ed. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers.

This source is a two-volume work of essays. The first section is a series of 34 essays on different types of libraries form "African American libraries to workers' libraries..." The second section of essays consists of histories of over 200 libraries around the world. This text is useful for searching historical backgrounds.
DEWEY REF Z 721 I572 2001  

LIS Wiki Librarians' version of wikipedia.

Dictionaries and Thesauri:

 ALA Glossary of Library and Information Science. Chicago: ALA, 1983.

Although quite dated, this remains an essential source for historical terms as well as basic library terminology. Entries are brief and clearly written.
DEWEY REF Z 1006 A48 1983

 Harrod's Librarians' Glossary and Reference Book. Hants, England: Gower, Ashgate Pub. 2005.

Harrod's is a classic work which has been updated frequently. The current edition includes over 10,200 terms. DEWEY REF Z 1006 H32 2005

 International Dictionary of Library Histories. David H. Stam, Ed. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers.

This source is a two-volume work of essays. The first section is a series of 34 essays on different types of libraries form "African American libraries to workers' libraries..." The second section of essays consists of histories of over 200 libraries around the world. This text is useful for searching historical backgrounds. DEWEY REF Z 721 I572 2001  

Dictionary of Information Science and Technology. Boston: Academic Press, 1992.

This dictionary includes a spectrum of terms reflecting the interdisciplinary nature of the field of information science. The entries are concisly and clearly written. DEWEY REF Z 1006 W35 1992

Reitz, Joan M. Dictionary for Library and Information Science. Westport,CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2004.

This is the print version of ODLIS (Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science). DEWEY REF Z 1006 R45 2004 ODLIS is also available online at http://www.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_A.aspx

 Diodato, Virgil, PhD. Dictionary of Bibliometrics. New York: The Haworth Press, 1994.

This is the only English language dictionary that exclusively covers bibliometrics. Dewey Library REF Z 669.8 D56 1994

 Soper, Mary Ellen, Larry N. Osborne, and Douglas L. Zweizig. The Librarian's Thesaurus. Chicago: American Library Association, 1990.

The terminology of library and information science is presented in this book in a logical outline. Following the outline, definitions are provided. Many of the definitions are more like encyclopedia entries than brief dictionary entries. Illustrations are clear and well chosen. DEWEY REF Z 1006 S595 1990

Redmond-Neal, A. & Hlava, M. M. K. (Eds.) ASIS& T Thesaurus of Information Science, Technology & Librarianship (3rd ed).Medford, NJ: Information Today, 2005.  An authoritative thesaurus of contolled vocabulary termsin the fields of Information Science and Librarianship.Dewey Ref Z 695.1 I 56 M54 2005

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Deborah Bernnard
Contact Info
Dewey Graduate Library
University at Albany
Albany, NY
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip