Last Updated: Nov 1, 2012
UFSP 100 - Sustainability - Agriculture & Food
- Agricultural Statistics - Annual
From the USDA - Agricultural Statistics is published each year to meet the diverse need for a reliable reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
- Census of Agriculture
"The Census of Agriculture, taken every five years, is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. The Census looks at land use and ownership, operator characteristics, production practices, income and expenditures, and many other areas."
"CountrySTAT is a web-based information technology system for food and agriculture statistics at the national and subnational levels."
"FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries."
- National Agricultural Statistics Service - Data and Statistics
- Congressional Digest
Features the major issues and controversies in the Congress, pro and con.
- CQ Weekly
A weekly journal reporting on the United States Congress.
- CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports
CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports are provided to members of Congress at their request. Each is an objective, nonpartisan analysis on a issue considered by congress.
- GAO (Government Accountability Office)
The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
- ProQuest Congressional
Search for hearings, reports and documents of Congress.
- Opposing Viewpoints
Provides electronic access to various reference sources which focus on both the facts and opposing viewpoints on current events issues.
- FAO - State of Food and Agriculture
"The State of Food and Agriculture, FAO’s major annual flagship publication, aims at bringing to a wider audience balanced science-based assessments of important issues in the field of food and agriculture. Each edition of the report contains a comprehensive, yet easily accessible, overview of a selected topic of major relevance for rural and agricultural development and for global food security. This is supplemented by a synthetic overview of the current global agricultural situation."
- FAO - State of Food Insecurity in the World
"Sustainable agricultural growth is often effective in reaching the poor because most of the poor and hungry live in rural areas and depend on agriculture for a significant part of their livelihoods."
- FAO - State of the World's Land and Water Resources
"This is the first time that a global, baseline status report on land and water resources has been made."
- FAO - United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization
"Achieving food security for all is at the heart of FAO's efforts - to make sure people have regular access to enough high-quality food to lead active, healthy lives."
- International Fund for Agricultural Development
International Fund for Agricultural Development was established to finance agricultural development projects primarily for food production in the developing countries.
- Rio+20 - Food Security and Sustainable Agriculture
""Rio+20" is the short name for the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development which took place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in June 2012 – twenty years after the landmark 1992 Earth Summit in Rio.
At the Rio+20 Conference, world leaders, along with thousands of participants from the private sector, NGOs and other groups, came together to shape how we can reduce poverty, advance social equity and ensure environmental protection on an ever more crowded planet."
- Sustainable Agriculture and Food Security in Asia and the Pacific
"Unless they (farmers) can produce food not just efficiently, but also in ways that respect the environment, the food security outlook will be bleak."
- Towards Sustainable Agriculture - OECD Contributions to the United Nations Commission on Sustainable Development 16
"But the potential contributions of agriculture to poverty reduction may not be realised owing to unsustainable trends in production and resource use which are exacerbated by a lack of policy coherence for agriculture in both OECD and non-OECD countries."
- UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs - Division for Sustainable Development
AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database consisting of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.
"AGRIS is a global public domain Database with 4155652 structured bibliographical records on agricultural science and technology. 79.46% of records are citations from scientific journals. The bibliographic references contain either links to the full text of the publication or additional information retrieved from related Internet resources." From FAO.
- SARE - Sustainable Agriculture Research & Education - Project Reports
"These projects were supported by the Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE) program, which is funded by the U.S. Department of Agriculture- National Institute of Food and Agriculture (USDA-NIFA)."
US Department of Agriculture recommends these Keywords and Phrases when searching:
- (sustainable agriculture) or
(agricultural sustainability) or
(regenerative agriculture) or
(sustainable farm*) or