The Capital District
AAAS207 Geography of AfricaUFSP 100 - Sustainability - Agriculture & FoodUFSP 100- Sustainability - Energy
This is the "Government Information in the University Libraries" page of the "Government Information in the University Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Information in the University Libraries   Tags: government_information  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.albany.edu/govinfo Print Guide RSS Updates

Government Information in the University Libraries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

European Union and United Nations Information in the University Libraries

The University Library is a European Union depository.  Materials received from the European Union are cataloged and classified with our other collections.  These items are accessible by searching Minerva.  European Union materials are also accessible via this guide

The University Library is not a United Nations depository but we purchase a variety of UN publications.  These items are accessible by searching Minerva. United Nations materials are also accessible via this guide.

The University Libraries have uncataloged collections of EU government microforms.  These microform collections are housed in Government Documents in the University Libraries' Periodicals Room.  Collections are described in the attached document prepared by Lauren Schucker.

 

NYS Government Information in the University Libraries

The University Library was a NYS government microfiche depository from 1989 through 1994. NYS documents were received in microfiche and are housed in the Periodicals Room on the basement level of the University Library on microfiche.  NYS government documents are housed to the right as you enter the Periodicals Room, on the back side of the microfiche cabinets.  They are arranged by New York State documents classification number.  NYS documents are listed in the University Libraries' catalog, Minerva. After 1994 NYS government information received by the University Libraries is integrated with the University Libraries collections and arranged by Library of Congress classification number.

In 2010 the New York State Library reorganized their depository system.  Only a small portion of NYS government information is distributed in tangible format.  Documents received and distributed by the New York State Library are listed in the New York State Checklist.  Most of these titles are available full text online through the New York State Library's catalog, Excelsior.  Online NYS information selected by the government information libriarian is availble via this guide.

The University Libraries have uncataloged collections of NYS government microforms.  These microform collections are housed in Government Documents in the University Libraries' Periodicals Room.  Collections are described in the attached document prepared by Lauren Schucker.

 

  

 

United States Government Information in the University Libraries

 “This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law." (Title 44 United States Code)

The University at Albany was designated a federal depository library in 1964.  We are a selective depository library.  Our collections are open to the public and reference assistance is available at the reference desk or by contacting the government information librarian (see contact information to the  right)

United States government information is housed in the Periodicals Room on the basement level of the University Library.  U.S. government documents are housed to the right as you enter the Periodicals Room.  They are arranged in Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) number order.  Paper, fiche, cd-roms, and dvds are all part of the collection and most will circulate if you have borrowing privileges with the University Libraries. 

United States government information received by the libraries or available online is accessible by searching Minerva, the University Libraries' online catalog.  Online United States government information selected by the government information librarian is also available via this guide.

The University Libraries have uncataloged collections of US government microforms.  These microform collections are housed in Government Documents in the University Libraries' Periodicals Room.  Collections are described in the attached document prepared by Lauren Schucker.

 

 

 

Government Information on Microform in the University Libraries

The University Libraries have uncataloged collections of government microforms.  These microform collections are housed in Government Documents in the University Libraries' Periodicals Room.  Collections are described in the attached document prepared by Lauren Schucker.

Citing Government Information

  • DocsCite
    DocsCite is a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format. Use the above drop-down menus to select the appropriate template. From Arizona State University.
  • ProQuest Congressional UAlbany only resource
    LexisNexis Congressional provides information on how to cite publications retrieved via LexisNexis.
  • The BlueBook
    The definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States, the BlueBook is available at the University Library and the Dewey Library (Reference KF 246 U54X).
  • UAlbany Style Guides Page
    Links and information for citing in APA, MLA, Chicago, and American Sociological Association Styles.

Government Information Librarian

Profile Image
Catherine M Dwyer
Contact Info
University at Albany
University Library LI-127
1400 Washington Ave
Albany, New York 1222
United States Depository
Library 0421-A
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip