iLearn Workshops @ UAlbany Libraries
Introduction to Mendeley - This hands-on workshop will cover installing Mendeley, adding and organizing papers, and creating a bibliography and in-text citations.
- Tuesday, September 16 at 10:30 in Library room B48
Speed Citing: Toolkit - You’ve written your paper and now you need to prepare your bibliography but don’t have a lot of time. Find solutions in this one hour workshop which provides a hands-on demonstration of several free and inexpensive citation tools.
- Tuesday, October 7 at 3:00 in Library room B48
Introduction to Zotero - This hands-on workshop will cover installing Zotero, adding and organizing citations, and creating a bibliography
- Tuesday, October 14 at 3:00 in Library room B48
- Tuesday, October 21 at 3:00 in Library room B48
Introduction to EndNote - This hands-on workshop will cover building and managing an EndNote library of references and creating a bibliography and in-text citations.
- Tuesday, November 18 at 3:00 in Library room B14
Workshops at the Dewey Graduate Library
Citation Managers - Zotero and EndNote are two powerful, web-based tools for collecting, organizing and citing documents. In this hour-long class, you will learn how to install both programs; import, organize and share references; and create in-text citations and bibliographies in a variety of citation formats.
- Wednesday, November 12 at 3:30
- Wednesday, November 19 at 3:30
Choosing a Citation Tool
If you are looking for help citing sources, creating bibliographies, and organizing your research, there are many tools to choose from. Citation tools fall into two basic categories: citation management software and citation generators.
Citation management software programs allow you to create and organize a personal library of references and articles, format citations for a bibliography in various citation styles, and sometimes share and collaborate with others. Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote, and EndNote Web are all examples of citation management software, and are mostly used by researchers. For help deciding which citation management software best suits your needs, see this comparison from UW-Madison Libraries and this comparison from Penn State University Libraries. Zotero and Mendeley are both free, and the University at Albany provides access to EndNote and EndNote Web.
Citation generators are websites or mobile apps that automatically format citations and bibliographies. Users select a type of source to be cited, such as a book, enter the book title, and the citation generator retrieves the required data and creates the citation data. Citation generators are useful for undergraduates who need to create bibliographies when writing papers. Many are free and others are inexpensive. See our list of recommended citation generators, and common errors to avoid.
Confused about when and why to cite sources? See the guide and tutorial below.