Dewey Library offers information literacy workshops
Every semester, Dewey Library offers free information literacy workshops . These workshops are designed to help students, faculty and staff use library resources effectively and efficiently. Most of the workshops offer hands on practice and cover subject specific and general information resources
Fall 2011 Dewey Library Information Literacy Workshop Schedule
-
Wednesday, Jan 18, 2012 to Thursday, Jan 26, 2012: Orientation Tour of Dewey Graduate Library
Take a tour of the Dewey Graduate Library. Learn the basics about reserves, electronic databases, interlibrary loan, UA delivery and more! This session does not fulfill the MSW information/computer literacy requirement. -
Thursday, Jan 26, 2012 to Friday, Feb 10, 2012: Introduction to Federal Public Policy Research
This session will cover finding the legal authority for a policy, sources for legislative history, and sources evaluating federal public policies. The one hour session will be half lecture and half hands-on searching of electronic databases. -
Wednesday, Feb 1, 2012 to Wednesday, May 2, 2012: Introduction to Research Databases
Research databases can help find relevant information on almost any topic. This session will introduce important concepts needed to effectively search any database. Minerva, the online catalog as well as specific databases and platforms will be demonstr -
Wednesday, Feb 1, 2012 to Monday, May 14, 2012: Social Welfare Research Seminar
An introduction to using library databases, the library website and other Internet resources for research in social welfare. -
Thursday, Feb 9, 2012 to Wednesday, Apr 11, 2012: Using the University Libraries' Website to Access Information
Students will be introduced to Minerva, the online catalog, research databases and other online resources. UA Delivery and Interlibrary Loan will also be covered. -
Tuesday, Feb 21, 2012 to Wednesday, Mar 7, 2012: ICPSR, Data and Statistical Resources
There are many resources on the Web for obtaining statistics and data relevant to the social sciences but it is not always easy to find them. This session will provide an introduction to government and other not for profit sources of data and statistical -
Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 to Friday, Mar 16, 2012: Nonprofit Organizations-Information Sources
This session will provide an overview to print, online and internet sources of information regarding nonprofit organizations and their activities. 3/4 of the session will be hands-on use of electronic databases. Approximately 60 minutes. -
Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 to Wednesday, May 9, 2012: Evidence Based Practice
This advanced research seminar will focus on how to find and evaluate research information for clinical social work practice. Prerequisite: Social Welfare Research Seminar. This is an hour long class. -
Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 to Wednesday, May 2, 2012: Introduction to Information Resources for Gerontology
This class provides a basic overview of key resources related to gerontological social work. The important features of key reference works and databases will be described. The class will also include searching strategies and tips for uncovering useful a

Loading...
