This is the "Home" page of the "Development Studies-Selected Information Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Development Studies-Selected Information Resources  

This guide is intended as a starting place for library research on development issues.
Last Updated: Oct 7, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.albany.edu/Development_Studies Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Quick Links

  • Minerva (Online Catalog)
    Search Minerva to determine if the University Libraries have a book, journal, government publication, or other document in their collections.
  • Databases and Indexes
    Access subscription databases relevant to your research. Includes both full-text and bibliographic databases.
  • Interlibray Loan
    Interlibrary loan is a service which allows UA users to borrow materials from libraries at other institutions. Register and submit requests using the Illiad software available at this url.
  • UA Delivery  
      
    UA Delivery is a service which provides for the intercampus delivery of UA library books, and the electronic delivery of articles from UA print journals. Register and submit requests using the Illiad software.

Internet Resources

  • Center for Global Development
    Founded in 2001, CGD conducts research and analysis on a range of topics including aid effectiveness, education, globalization, health, migration, and trade.
  • Development Gateway
    The web site of the Development Gateway Foundation providing information on development activities throughout the world. Their AiDA online directory "offers a quick overview of who is doing what in international development, where they are doing it, and with what funds. Information may not reflect all activities or most recent activities."
  • International Monetary Fund
    The IMF has 188 member nations who are committed to global economic development and poverty reduction. It produces reports and data on economic issues and government finance most of which is freely available from its website.
  • NGO Database
    Database created by Christof Galli (Duke University) provides information on international NGOs. There are 30 subject categories including development, human rights, the environment, etc.
  • Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development  
      
    “The OECD groups 30 member countries sharing a commitment to democratic government and the market economy. With active relationships with some 70 other countries, NGOs, and civil society, it has a global reach. Best known for its publications and its statistics, its work covers economic and social issues from macroeconomics, to trade, education, development, and science and innovation.” Try looking under “Browse”-“By Topics”.
  • Richard Kimber's Political Science Resources
    Excellent collection of political science web resources.
  • Transparency International  
      
    "Transparency International, the global civil society organisation leading the fight against corruption, brings people together in a powerful worldwide coalition to end the devastating impact of corruption on men, women and children around the world."
  • United Nations Development Policy and Analysis Division  
      
    “The Development Policy and Analysis Division is the main development research division of the UN secretariat. The Division’s research aims to contribute to a strengthening of international cooperation for the economic and social development of all countries and to foster their effective integration into the world economy in the context of the UN Development Agenda."
  • United Nations Development Programme
    UNDP helps developing countries find solutions to challenges in the areas of democratic governance, poverty reduction, crisis prevention and recovery, environment and energy, and HIV/AIDS.
  • United Nations Human Development Reports
    Excellent source for reports and statistics on global, regional, national, and sub-national human development issues.
  • USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse
    "USAID's Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC) is the largest online resource for USAID funded technical and program documentation, with over 66700 documents available for electronic download."
  • World Bank
    The World Bank provides financial and technical assistance to developing countries. Their web site provides background info on each country and their annual report, World Development Reports.
  • Worldbank aAtlas of Global Development
    Produced by the World Book provides " maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries".

Databases - Full Text

(Recommended search phrases: Developing Countries, Development Planning, Development Plans, Development Policies, Development Studies, Third World Development)

  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)UAlbany only resource
    Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) provides the full-text of working papers, occasional papers, conference proceedings, etc., produced by prominent research organizations in the field of international affairs. It also includes the table of contents of major international affairs journals. Coverage since 1991.
  • LexisNexis Congressional UAlbany only resource
    Index to Congressional publications, 1789+. Also includes: Legislative Histories, testimony from Congressional hearings, bill tracking, text of CONGRESSIONAL RECORD, FEDERAL REGISTER, and information about members and committees. Index Coverage since 1789. Full-text coverage dates vary by title.
  • Political Science: A Sage Full-Text CollectionUAlbany only resource
    Provides access to the full text of 23 journals on political science published by Sage and its publishing partners. Coverage dates vary.
  • PoplineUAlbany only resource
    POPLINE provides worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues, including family planning technology and programs, fertility, and population law and policy. In addition, POPLINE focuses on particular developing-country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, and population and environment. Coverage since 1970 with selected material back to 1886.
  • OECD LibraryUAlbany only resource
    The OECD Library provides electronic access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development books, reports, annuals, working papers, loose-leaf binders, periodicals and databases. This database contains research on social and policy issues, as well as a wealth of statistical information. Coverage dates vary.

Find Journal Articles

  • CSA Worldwide Political Science AbstractsUAlbany only resource
    Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in over 1000 journals related to political science. Also provides references and links to quality Internet sites. Coverage since 1975.
  • International Bibliography of the Social SciencesUAlbany only resource
    This database indexes both core and specialized journals (2,600) and books in the social sciences. Core disciplines covered are anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology, with additional coverage in other social science fields. Thirty percent of the records are in languages other than English. Coverage since 1951.
  • PAIS International/PAIS ArchiveUAlbany only resource
    PAIS International provides references to books, journal articles, government documents, and privately published research reports on almost any topic that has a public affairs dimension. It is international in coverage. Coverage begins with 1972 but the PAIS Archive extends coverage back to 1915.
  • Social Sciences AbstractsUAlbany only resource
    International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Indexing coverage begins with 1983. Abstracting coverage begins with 1994.
  • Sociological AbstractsUAlbany only resource
    Primary database for sociology, covering journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. 1952+.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit Publications
    Includes up-to-date political and economic reports on 201 countries.
 

Find Books

Minerva

University Libraries' Online Catalog

(Listed below are some key subject headings relevant to Development Studies.  For more precise results you may consider combining a search using one of these subject headings with another term such as the name of a geographic location, e.g. Africa.)

Developing Countries

Developing Countries--Politics and Government

Development Economics

Economic Development

Political Development

 

WorldCat UAlbany only resource

This subscription database provides references to books and other documents cataloged by libraries located throughout the world.

 

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of the Developing World

Thomas M. Leonard, editor.  New York:  Routledge, 2006 “From ‘acid precipitation’ to ‘zionism’, the approximately 800 entries of this three-volume encyclopedia, ranging in length from 500 to 5000 words each, seek to provide understanding of the history, economic development, and politics of the developing world from 1945 to the present day.  The editor includes what used to be known as the ‘Second World,’ as well as those that for many are still known as the ‘Third World.’  Each country receives its own entry, but there are also larger regional entries.  Some 170 important organizations are covered, from the African Development Bank to the Zaptista National Revolutionary Army.  Also included are 134 entries on individual persons, with examples including Idi Amin, Menachem Begin, Chiang Kai-shek, Nicolae Ceausescu, Mikhail Gorbachev, Saddam Hussein, Frantz Fanon! , Jomo Kenyatta, Ferdinand Marcos, Joseph Stalin, Pope John Paul II, and Augusto Pinochet.  Thematic entries offer thematic interpretations and analytical discussions of such topics as apartheid, the Balkan wars of the 1990s, caste systems, capital flight, the impact of debt on development, currency regimes, infant mortality, the Intifada, the Great Leap Forward, intellectual property rights, Islamic fundamentalism, foreign direct investment, guerilla warfare, liberation theology, and the Nonaligned movement, to name a few.  Each entry includes a brief bibliography and guide to further reading and frequently includes guidance to related entries.  Alphabetical and thematic lists of entries are included at the beginning of each volume, along with a comprehensive analytical index at the end of each.”

Dewey Library/Reference:  HC 59.7 E52 2006

Handbook of Comparative and Development Administration

Edited by Ali Farazmand.  New York:  Marcel Dekker, 2001.  “Seventy-six essays cover various issues related to the study of comparative and development administration, and more specifically, administrative performance and political responsibility.  They discuss the administrative processes related to economic development, with an emphasis in the role of bureaucracies.  The volume focuses on contemporary conditions in developing countries; however, historical perspectives, and analyses of the conditions of industrialized countries are also included.  Chapters discussing public administration in various countries are grouped geographically.  Other chapters discuss the historical bases of public administration and bureaucracy, problems in comparative and development administration, ethics and accountability, bureaucratic politics and administrative theory, bureaucratic power,! and change, and revolution.” 

Dewey Library / JF 1351 H267 2001

Dictionary of Development: Third World Economy, Environment, Society

 

 

Edited by Brian W.W. Welsh & Pavel Butorin.  New York:  Garland Pub., 1990.   “Definitions and descriptions of the major facts, concepts, events, and issues (and their related periodicals) related to the development process.  Includes evaluative analyses of issues and policies employed to achieve development, and an annotated listing of non-governmental organizations involved in the development field.  A section of developing country indicators provides statistical data on Third World societies and economics.”

University Library/Reference:  HC 59.7 D513 1990                                                 

Dewey Library/Reference:  HC 59.7 d513 1990

 

 

 

 

Your Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Richard Irving
Contact Info
Dewey Library
University at Albany
135 Western Ave.
Albany, NY 12222

Phone:518-442-3698
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip